Back in the game!

Last night we had dinner at a friend’s house and the meal wasn’t baby-friendly (everything quite heavily salted) so Daniel went back to playing with a tangerine while we ate and my dilemma was temporarily put on hold. But after some reflection in the early hours of this morning, I decided that my hesitation was mainly being caused by a generalised (albeit well-informed) guideline and that it was equally important to go with my instincts and what my baby is showing me. So we’re back on track with the raw fruit and veg at tea time, and we’ll see about introducing the full range of foods when he’s getting closer to six months.

So tonight it was a conference pear. I washed it, cut off the pointy top and took out the core first, and then cut it into half and then cut one half into quarters (leaving the skin on), and offered Daniel the half and one of the quarters. (I ate the other quarter just to see how ripe/sweet it was – not very!)

As usual, he was very interested to give it a good taste and gnaw. He initially had most success with the full half piece, using both his hands to hold it and then sucking and gumming at the exposed flesh. The quarter piece was actually more difficult for him to get a handle on, so (at Jon’s suggestion) I cut it again into two thinner strips, and then Daniel did really well, getting a one-handed grasp of one strip and making short work of the couple of centimetres that were sticking out above his fist. He definitely swallowed some of it, as well as getting it all over his face, hands and chest area.

There was one quite prolonged gagging episode but Jon and I managed to ride it out and Daniel came through it apparently unbothered! He also smeared the smaller stick all over his face at one point, similar to the face-rubbing gesture that he does when he’s getting tired, but this time with a piece of pear in his hand! I’m not sure if it was the ‘I’m tired’ signal with an incidental piece of pear involved, or whether he was actually exploring what it felt like to smear fruit on his face!

We now await the next poo with interest…

About babyledweaningyork

Hi! I’m a second time mum embarking once again on Baby-led Weaning. A couple of years ago, I blogged about our experiences introducing our son Daniel to foods with a BLW approach. Now our little Daisy is here, I thought I'd keep a record of how it goes this time around - just for fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

