Nappy evidence! And mango becoming a favourite

Definite evidence of broccoli and either mango or sweet potato (or both!) in the nappy yesterday – so, some actual ‘eating’ has definitely occurred – hurrah!

Yesterday we just did a mango snack at lunchtime. Again there was no proper adult tea time to join in with as Jon was out on another work thing, and until we get a high chair I can’t really keep a proper eye on Daniel eating while I eat a meal myself if I’m on my own.

This morning Daniel and I had ‘breakfast’ together though – I made him a little table out of a footstool, propped him up with a few cushions and sat opposite him. He had some mango and banana, and I had the same with some yoghurt and pine nuts over the top. He has definitely got the mango technique sorted now, and (it seems) has identified mango as something nice and worth returning to if he spots it in front of him.

Mango from Annie Irvine on Vimeo.

Less interest in the banana – it was mushy like the potatoes and it seems as if Daniel doesn’t bother persevering with things that he can’t get a firm grip on yet. He did quite a lot of feeling/squishing of the banana but made no attempts to get it to his mouth once it’d fallen out of its skin ‘handle’.

Banana and mango from Annie Irvine on Vimeo.

Mess wise, I’m already getting used to it. The coverall bibs have continued to be effective in protecting Daniel from the worst of it and they dry quickly after a quick rinse in the washing machine. I only bought two from Tesco the other day, but since they were only £2.29 I might invest in a few more.

We went out for breakfast with friends today (yes, I had two breakfasts!) and Daniel got precisely nowhere with the grilled flat mushrooms I offered him. Far too slippery and ended up on the floor within seconds.

About babyledweaningyork

Hi! I’m a second time mum embarking once again on Baby-led Weaning. A couple of years ago, I blogged about our experiences introducing our son Daniel to foods with a BLW approach. Now our little Daisy is here, I thought I'd keep a record of how it goes this time around - just for fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

