Daniel’s weekend carb-fest

As I said the other day, once you’ve started BLW it seems hard to rein in your excitement and enthusiasm for introducing your baby to a whole range of things. My resolve to stick to fruit and veg only until Daniel is six months old has gone completely out of the window.

We were at a wedding reception last night and – in high spirits and throwing caution to the wind – I let Daniel munch his way through half the chips on my plate. To my slight dismay, he appeared to absolutely LOVE them! The result of the chip-fest was not the most attractive I’ve ever seen my son…

… and as it turned out, he had barely swallowed any of them. After we put the plate away, he proceeded to slowly release drooley mashed potato pulp from between his lips over the following 10 minutes. He must have just packed his cheeks full, hamster style!

Emboldened by the ricecake experience at playgroup on Friday I also bought some for Daniel to try at home – full size ones this time, but snapped in half to make them easier to grasp. He didn’t get very far on his first attempt yesterday lunchtime, but at breakfast this morning he made pretty good headway into each semi-circle.

The final part of this weekends carb-fest was a granary bread roll at a country pub we’d gone to for lunch with friends. Already, we definitely can’t get away with sitting Daniel up at a mealtable without offering him something – loud protests ensue if you try it! So I let him have a small roll from my breadbasket and he went at it with gusto. It was a perfect size and shape for him to hold and mushed down nicely. Of course, lots of soggy lumps ended up on the floor, but I think he did swallow a fair bit.

The fussing at the breast that I was a bit concerned about last week seems to have been a temporary blip. However, I’m already noticing that he’s willing to go longer between milk feeds during the day when he’s had some solid food. I don’t want to reduce his breastfeeds just yet, so I need to make sure I remember to offer him milk just as regularly as before. He’s also still waking in the night wanting to feed, and I don’t think reducing his daytime feeds is going to help him move on from that either!

About babyledweaningyork

Hi! I’m a second time mum embarking once again on Baby-led Weaning. A couple of years ago, I blogged about our experiences introducing our son Daniel to foods with a BLW approach. Now our little Daisy is here, I thought I'd keep a record of how it goes this time around - just for fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

