A bit rich?

Bit of a mistake/learning experience yesterday.

We were in a café and I offered D some fingers of toasted teacake spread with butter. I’d spread the butter quite liberally, on the basis that babies need plenty of fats. Daniel seemed to thoroughly enjoy the teacake and it looked to me like a substantial amount of what I put in front of him got swallowed. We followed this up with a full milk feed.

However, once he’d finished his milk, he started being sick repeatedly over the next couple of hours. The first few times it was quite large amounts but mainly milky. But then he started bringing up (albeit smaller) amounts of what seemed like ‘proper’ sick. It was yellower, thicker and smelled horrible –so horrible that I needed change all of both his and my clothes that it had got on, rather than just wipe us down with a cloth.

This sickiness was a bit similar to his reaction to the croissant last weekend, so my first thought was that it was just too rich for him. I then realised that the butter in the café would have been salted too, so maybe he was reacting to this as well. Or I suppose it might just have been that he’d eaten too much of it for his tummy to manage (it was rather tasty!)

Anyway, he didn’t seem at all upset by this and was his usual happy self in all other respects, so I wasn’t too worried. But we stuck to just milk feeds for the rest of the day, to give his insides a chance to settle down. He’s slept fine overnight, so fruit and yoghurt can go back on the menu when he wakes in a little while…

About babyledweaningyork

Hi! I’m a second time mum embarking once again on Baby-led Weaning. A couple of years ago, I blogged about our experiences introducing our son Daniel to foods with a BLW approach. Now our little Daisy is here, I thought I'd keep a record of how it goes this time around - just for fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

