Making progress

Daniel seem to have taken some real steps forward in the last couple of weeks. I was browsing the BLW book for the first time since we started out and, looking at the pictures in the centre pages, I realised he’s doing that thing of putting his fingers in his mouth to keep the food in, which the book illustrates with babies at around Daniel’s age. Hurrah – he’s on target ;-)!

We’ve discovered that he really likes citrus. I’d held back for a little while, since oranges are one of the potential allergens (though based on family history, there’s no particular reason he would react badly) and the first time we gave him orange, he really went for it. I’d cut an orange into 1/8 chunks (into kind of pyramids rather than wedges) and he sucked loads of juice and some of the flesh off the pieces that didn’t fall on the floor! At a café a couple of days later, I gave him the lime out of my water glass as a bit of a mean joke to see if he winced, but he loved it! So the next day at the pub, I asked for extra lime at the bar for him – and he loved it again, not a fluke! Not really a citrus fruit, but he also really enjoyed tomato when he had it for the first time the other night. So he must be quite into ‘sharp’ flavours.

He’s also making progress with water – all of a sudden he seems interested in taking proper sips. He still only has a small amount each mealtime, but he’s stopped thrashing about so much with the beaker (or cup or glass – I vary what receptacle we try!) and now takes a good few sips, sometimes signalling that he wants the cup back for more, before losing interest. I think this might be linked to him now taking larger mouthfuls of ‘dry’ foods such as bread and potato, so now he’s maybe wanting water to wash it down?

He’s getting tidier too, and I’m increasingly confident about him joining in meals at other people’s houses and quietly proud of him when he sits and joins in in a civilised and sociable manner!

Tea time was funny tonight. Daniel ate loads of tomato and cucumber but was not at all keen to try the cheese and polenta muffins I’d made. He actually seemed to be totally apprehensive of the texture, never mind the taste. Every time he went to pick up a piece, he pulled his hand away as soon as his fingers brushed the edges of it! I started to feel paranoid that maybe he just doesn’t like my home baking (he wasn’t keen on the breastmilk porridge or ‘Franny’s Virtuous Muffins’ either!) But then I offered him some pieces of the lemon loaf cake that we were having for pudding (also homemade) and he stuffed that down as if his life depended on it. So I feel better about my homebaking now, and we have further evidence that he’s a citrus fan.

Apart from really not enjoying the chilli taste the other day, we’ve not had any real problems with flavours or digestion as he’s experimented with new and different things. We did have one pretty full-on projectile vomit the other night, but I’m 99% sure that this was triggered by a violent coughing fit he had during his night feed (he has had a lingering cough and cold), and it was just an unfortunate coincidence that he’d eaten rather a lot of lasagne for tea – and not something that would have been less messy to rinse of pyjamas and bedding at 3am!

About babyledweaningyork

Hi! I’m a second time mum embarking once again on Baby-led Weaning. A couple of years ago, I blogged about our experiences introducing our son Daniel to foods with a BLW approach. Now our little Daisy is here, I thought I'd keep a record of how it goes this time around - just for fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

