Garnish gagging!

We’ve got a bit of a running joke in our house, that whenever I cook something ‘fancy’, I always forget to put the garnish on Jon’s serving. So tonight we were having a veggie curry and I very conscientiously put coriander leaves onto Jon’s portion and then a bit onto Daniel’s too. This turned out to be the cause of his most prolonged gagging incident yet.

I don’t know whether Daniel gags less than your average baby, or whether I’m just so blasé about it that it never makes much of an impression on me. But this was out of the ordinary and I could tell something was up, both from the intermittent actual gagging, and also the way he wasn’t really swallowing anything else and seemed a bit hesitant about putting anything more into his mouth.

After four, maybe five of these intermittent gags, he finally managed a couple of big coughs, and then a whole coriander leaf appeared on the end of his tongue, followed a few moments later by a bit of another one. So, learning point for mum – fresh herbs of this size and texture either need to be chopped more finely, or avoided for a while, until he has the dental wherewithal to deal with them better!

About babyledweaningyork

Hi! I’m a second time mum embarking once again on Baby-led Weaning. A couple of years ago, I blogged about our experiences introducing our son Daniel to foods with a BLW approach. Now our little Daisy is here, I thought I'd keep a record of how it goes this time around - just for fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

