The Hunger Games

Total exploitation of an eye-catching title – I’ve neither read nor watched The Hunger Games and don’t even really know what it’s about. However, it seemed a fitting heading for today’s observation.

So a relationship seems to be establishing between Daniel’s hunger and his eating. For example, today we had lunch at a friend’s house – bringing sandwiches from the deli around the corner. By the time we sat down to eat, it was almost four hours since the last time Daniel had had either solid food or milk. I was a bit unsure whether giving him part of my sandwich (a delicious warm goat’s cheese and roasted pepper bagel) was a good idea – in case he was approaching the ‘too hungry and frustrated to feed himself’ point. But no! I gave him about one fifth of my bagel and he sat and happily munched his way through almost the whole lot – there was virtually nothing left at the end apart from a few soggy morsels of bread. He followed this up with a bit of my sticky toffee cake, and was then pretty disinterested in the milk feed I offered him to wash it all down. This was a real contrast to a couple of nights ago, when he’d had a breast feed only about half an hour before tea and then hardly made a dent in his jacket potato and baked beans.

Now, I know that breast milk should still be his main source of food and nutrients for a while longer yet, so I don’t want to start playing ‘hunger games’ with him (see what I did there?!) and make him wait until he’s starving before offering solid food, just to make sure he eats it. But at the same time, he seems to do so much ‘better’ with his foods when he’s hungry enough to give it a proper go that I might start to adjust the times that milk and solid foods happen, just to catch him in the right mood to practice his skills.

Speaking of which, the swiping with spoons and forks is coming on well, and we’ve had one isolated occasion of the spoon actually passing from custard to mouth (via nose – see photo!) But at the moment he seems mainly to swipe backwards across his plate, so nothing actually ends up on the utensil…

About babyledweaningyork

Hi! I’m a second time mum embarking once again on Baby-led Weaning. A couple of years ago, I blogged about our experiences introducing our son Daniel to foods with a BLW approach. Now our little Daisy is here, I thought I'd keep a record of how it goes this time around - just for fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

