Salmon: spread

I made the salmon spread from the BLW cookbook the other day – and discovered that it makes loads. Much more than he would get through in the two days it would remain fridge-worthy. Or so I thought…

The day I made it, I just gave D a modest amount on some ricecakes and bread, and just a couple of loaded spoons to make sure he actually got some of it in his mouth. It seemed to go down pretty well, but I put most of it (virtually a full cereal bowlful) back in the fridge. I guess I was being subconsciously constrained by the fact it was billed as a ‘spread’, so only really used it as such.

The next day (yesterday), I got the remainder out at tea time, as a ‘put with’ alongside our pizza, just so I didn’t feel it had been totally wasteful. But this time D really went for it! I was giving him loaded spoons of the spread and he kept holding his empty spoon out for more and more each time – with real intent and a communicative ‘more please’ look in his eyes! Seriously, it was one of those occasions where I was though he was certainly going to be sick if I let him carry on much longer, but he was just fine (I must remember to trust him!!)

Anyway, once I tired of loading his spoons, I just handed over the dish – well, stuck it on his tray – and to our amusement, he started putting his face right into the dish and licking the salmon spread straight off the rim of the bowl! He also managed one fully functional scoop with his teaspoon! Just the one mind – he then found that putting his hands directly in and licking his fingers was much more efficient. He seemed to have a whale of a time with the texture and the flavour, and then slapping his tray and spattering the remains all over the kitchen (and his parents) after we’d removed the almost empty dish from proceedings.

Despite a good bath, he went to bed smelling faintly of fish again, but he clearly has a new favourite and I’ll have to make it again.

 

About babyledweaningyork

Hi! I’m a second time mum embarking once again on Baby-led Weaning. A couple of years ago, I blogged about our experiences introducing our son Daniel to foods with a BLW approach. Now our little Daisy is here, I thought I'd keep a record of how it goes this time around - just for fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

