Carbo-baby

I don’t know whether D is secretly preparing for a marathon, but he is most definitely ‘carb loading’ at the moment. He ate a huge piece of ‘doorstep’ wholegrain bread in a café the other day, yesterday he ate two drop scones for breakfast, half of a veg pastie for lunch, plus a good go at a slice of pizza, and then chips later in the evening (we were at a festival – hence all the ‘take away’ style food!) and today he ate masses of bread and pastry when we were out for a pub lunch. Meanwhile, he’s almost totally disinterested in fruit of any kind. He is still showing some interested in cooked veg, but cold fruit gets either ignored or put straight onto the floor – even his apparent favourites of orange and mango.

He’s also back to the gravity experiments and I’ve had to struggle to keep my cool a few times over the past week when full plates of spaghetti or mini shredded wheats have been summarily dispatched to the floor without even touching his lips. I don’t mind him not being hungry, if that’s the case, but it seems unnecessary to fling it all on the floor to let me know as much! I’d be quite happy with a polite “Not now thanks mummy”. Given his propensity to dropping or sweeping food onto the floor at the moment, I’ve been inclined to give him more loaded-spoon type options, such as yoghurt mixed with oats, or thick spreads/sauces, where you get a bit more warning and a bit more chance to intervene if it starts to look like the spoon is going South.

After the good take-up of the salmon spread last week, we had a very positive response to mackerel too – first just ‘plain’ off a fork, and then mixed with greek yoghurt on some rice cakes. There have also been some impressive cutlery moments, one where he offered me a loaded spoon of yoghurt to eat (so cute!!) and one where he actually speared a bit of potato all on his own, and then got it into his mouth. However, I think the latter was inadvertent – it hasn’t been repeated. When he is in the mood for eating, we’re also getting more of the good lengthy interactions with him holding the spoon out for more and taking it back as soon as it’s been reloaded. His Grammy also thinks she heard him say “Ta” this weekend!

At the festival yesterday, when it was tea time, I got a jacket potato with beans for us to share, and a second ‘filling’ of tuna mayonnaise for Daniel – but I got the woman at the van to put it in a separate tray as I don’t eat fish. Anyway, at one point while we were attempting to have our meal on our picnic blanket, Daniel managed to crawl right through his tray of tuna mayo, covering his own trouser legs, wiping his sticky hands all over my (black) jeans and dragging the mess over the rug as he went. I’m getting quite a high tolerance for mess now we’ve been at this for four months, but I have to confess, it was one of those moments when I totally understood why most people go for jars and spoon-feeding, at least on this kind of occasion! I may have mentioned this before, but Daniel seems to do much better when he’s sitting at a table to eat. Whilst you might imagine that picnic style dining would be easier for BLW, he’s actually pretty rubbish at sitting still and getting food in the right places when he’s just sitting on the floor. He needs to be a bit more hemmed in and propped up to keep his mind on the job, it seems!

About babyledweaningyork

Hi! I’m a second time mum embarking once again on Baby-led Weaning. A couple of years ago, I blogged about our experiences introducing our son Daniel to foods with a BLW approach. Now our little Daisy is here, I thought I'd keep a record of how it goes this time around - just for fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

