Taking BLW to Nursery…

Daniel will be starting nursery in about six weeks’ time. We popped in the other day to arrange his taster sessions and to ask a few questions about food, drink and naps. I was quite surprised and very pleased to hear that they are well-used to having families who’ve done BLW. The woman who manages the baby room said that they hadn’t really heard of it until a couple of years ago, but since then, they regularly have baby-led weaners in their group.

She did say that they encourage the children to use a fork (rather than fingers) and, as she said this, I recalled that there’d been some disgruntlement on the BLW forum about another mum being told this by their nursery. But I don’t mind this – I can see their point. Finger food is great, but at some stage Daniel will need to be able to use cutlery properly too, so it’s fine for nursery to be somewhere that he practises this.

I was also reassured by what they said about drinking. They’re happy to deal with expressed breastmilk – though by the time he starts, Daniel will be very nearly one, so I’m happy for him to have the cows’ milk that they provide. If he’s still needing a bottle, then we have to provide this, but if he can manage a beaker, then they have these at the nursery. Daniel isn’t very adept with a beaker yet, but we’re going to work on this over the next few weeks, so hopefully there’ll be no need for daily sterilising by the time he starts.

We’re off to a proper, all-weekend festival tomorrow; the Beat Herder. I confess, my principles have relaxed even further and I’ve bought a couple of savoury baby-food jars in case it all gets a bit challenging. But Jon was surprisingly anti-this (in a good way) and said that we should only open them if we really need to. He’s keen for Daniel to try all the exciting festival foods, I think – including a legendary macaroni cheese pasty…

About babyledweaningyork

Hi! I’m a second time mum embarking once again on Baby-led Weaning. A couple of years ago, I blogged about our experiences introducing our son Daniel to foods with a BLW approach. Now our little Daisy is here, I thought I'd keep a record of how it goes this time around - just for fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

