Be patient mummy…

So, after a few first forays with fruit and veg, I returned to my copy of Gill Rapley’s book to ‘revise’ a little and also, if I’m honest, to search for evidence that it was ok to be starting to introduce Daisy to foods at just over five months old. I actually found the book a bit contradictory, as it really hammers home the ‘wait until six months’ message, but simultaneously promotes the message that a baby who can feed themselves is ready to eat. Daisy is not six months, but she clearly knows what she’s doing when she grips a stick of fruit and puts it to her mouth. I know that everything goes in the mouth at this stage, but not with the prolonged interest that this piece of melon got today!

The Rapley book says there’s no need to worry because babies won’t actually bite, chew or start to swallow until they’re 7-8 months. But today, Daisy really was gumming away at the melon, managed to gnaw/suck off a few small pieces and did swallow them. And there was evidence in her nappy of the tiny amounts of green beans she played with at tea time last night, when we were at my mum’s house.

So, I’ve got a child who presents a bit of a mismatch between Rapley’s two key readiness factors. She’s quite a way off six months (relatively speaking), but she appears very capable of the early stages of self-feeding.

However, following her very focused melon sucking this afternoon, she proceeded to be very sicky throughout the rest of the afternoon and evening, so I’m thinking her tummy really isn’t quite ready for this yet and I really should hold off. It’ll take lots more willpower to deny her these explorations, but really it’s only another three weeks or so. Patience mummy!

About babyledweaningyork

Hi! I’m a second time mum embarking once again on Baby-led Weaning. A couple of years ago, I blogged about our experiences introducing our son Daniel to foods with a BLW approach. Now our little Daisy is here, I thought I'd keep a record of how it goes this time around - just for fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

